Meet the Monroe County candidates for

School Board

Monroe County voters will elect new school board members Nov. 8. The county’s two school districts, Monroe County Community School Corporation and Richland-Bean Blossom Community School Corporation, both have multiple school board seats up for election this year.

School boards heavily influence how school corporations function, from approving renovations to selecting the superintendent. The MCCSC school board’s recent decision to alter district start and end times exemplifies how school board decisions can impact families’ daily lives.

School board members serve four-year terms. However, not all terms run on the same schedule, meaning only a portion of school board seats are up for election at the same time.

The IDS has compiled everything you need to know about local school board elections before you vote this November:


Monroe County Community School Corporation

MCCSC is the larger of Monroe County’s two school corporations. Covering the majority of Monroe County, the school corporation contains seven districts. The MCCSC school board is composed of one member from each district, with three districts up for election this year.

MCCSC District 1

MCCSC District 1 includes Benton Township and parts of Bloomington.

MCCSC District 3

MCCSC District 3 includes parts of Perry Township and Van Buren Township.


MCCSC District 7

MCCSC District 7 includes parts of Bloomington.

Richland-Bean Blossom Community School Corporation

R-BB, sometimes known as Edgewood Schools, encompasses two northwestern Monroe County townships: Richland and Bean Blossom. The R-BB school board consists of five seats, with two up for election this year.

R-BB Richland District


R-BB Bean Blossom District